IPL – An opportunity for local cricketers to reach a global audience

IPL is a domestic Twenty-20 Cricket League that needs no introduction to cricket fans. IPL popularity is such that, especially in India, the big budget movie release dates get postponed based on IPL schedule.

When IPL schedule is released, all cricket fans wait for their favorite team’s performance. It’s been 13 seasons since the start of IPL, but the popularity of the IPL has not diminished. There have been a lot of other domestic leagues like BBL (Big Bash League), CPL (Caribbean Premier League) that were launched with much fanfare and publicity after IPL but they have not been as popular as the IPL.

The IPL is not only for entertaining audiences but also an opportunity for local cricketers to demonstrate their talent and get recognized globally.

Let’s have a look at the history of IPL, before we speak about the cricket players who came into limelight through IPL and are now the key players for Team India.

History of IPL:

IPL was introduced in 2008 and the first IPL match was held between Kolkata & Bangalore (KKR VS RCB) on April 18, at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, New Delhi.

IPL format:
Total 8 teams have to compete in every IPL season. Each have to play 14 matches.  Depending on final points, 4 teams will qualify for playoffs. In case, if any of two teams get equal points, then depending on their net run-rate the team that has more run-rate qualified for the playoff. As per IPL rule, each team can have a max of 4 overseas players in their team, the rest of the players must be Indian (domestic) cricketers.

Here is the list of few local cricket players who are now “IPL- made Celebrities”.

T. Natarajan:

T. Natarajan famously known as “Yorker-king”, a left-arm fast bowler from Tamil Nadu. Before IPL, he played many domestic leagues like Ranji Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy, etc. Year 2020 IPL season was a turning point for his cricketing career. In 2020 IPL season, he played for Hyderabad and took 16 wickets playing an instrumental role in getting Hyderabad team into playoffs.

Jasprit Bumrah:

Jasprit Bumrah is a right-arm fast bowler. In his debut season, he played for Mumbai Indians. Bumrah took 3 wickets against Bangalore (RCB) in his debut match and became the 2nd bowler to take 3 wickets in the debut match. Because of his impressive performance in 2013, Mumbai Indians retained Jasprit Bumrah consecutively in 2014, 2015 and 2016 IPL seasons. Now, Jasprit Bumrah is one of the world’s best bowlers in all formats of the play.

Hardik pandya:

Hardik Pandya famously known as “Kung fu Pandya” is an all-rounder. In 2015, he played for Mumbai Indians, a debut season for himself and he scored half-century against Kolkata (KKR). In 2017 IPL season, with his all-around performance, he played a major role in Mumbai Indians victory. Now, he is one of the best all‑rounders in world cricket.

Rishab Pant: 

Rishab Pant is a left-handed batsman and wicket-keeper. In 2016, he played his debut season for Delhi, in which he scored 69 off 40 balls against Gujarat. IPL 2018 season was a career-changing season for him; in this season he scored 128 off 63 balls against Hyderabad (SRH) and it was the highest ever score by an Indian player in IPL.

Mohammed Siraj:

Mohammed Siraj is a right-arm medium fast bowler from Hyderabad. In his debut season in 2017, he played for Hyderabad and took 10 wickets in that season. In 2020, he has played for Bangalore and played an important role in getting Bangalore team into playoffs.

In the future, we will see many more such young talents being discovered and getting global recognition through upcoming IPL seasons.

Let us know who your favorite Indian cricketer is this IPL season in the comment section below.

Manavi Kapur

Manavi is a fun-loving, tech-savvy, lady of the media and you better believe us when we tell you that she can sing! Needless to say, she has done all that with aplomb because some of her articles are highly cited in this niche.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button